Shooting with the Sinar Norma


Sunday, August 7.

After dropping Sweetheart at her place I drove back to mine and prepared a quick meal. Gnocchi with pesto. While the water was warming up I cut a template of  6 x 7 for the Sinar Norma. I don’t have any 4×5″ cassettes yet nor film. A Toyo 120 roll film back was a deliberate choice. I want to get to know the Sinar Norma and for the moment I can’t afford spending more dough on cassettes and expensive film.

I also need a new ballhead for my Manfrotto for the Sinar. Today I did it without a ballhead, adjusting the legs of the tripod if necessary. No big deal.

The Toyo 120 roll film holder gives you eight 6 x 7 negs.

I drove to Reimerswaal, a few clicks over the Belgian/the Netherlands border. I needed a spot where I would not be disturbed, with enough photographic opportunities.

I had a blast using this camera. Looking for a scene, setting up the camera, composing, looking at the light, measuring the scene with my Pentax Spotmeter V, interpreting the readings and doing the math in my head for obtaining the best result with the Ilford HP5 Plus I was using. Hell, I even made notes, an absolute first one.

It did not take long before I started seeing from the Sinar and the 6 x 7 POV and boy, what a change. So much fun taking your time to compose and make a shot. I even tried some tilt & shift shit. Closing the aperture before inserting the film, setting F-stop and speed. Cocking the shutter.

It was only at image 6 that it started to dawn on me. Back at home I had tried a bunch of stuff but I had not checked out how to insert the Toyo Back properly. I had been making 5 images without being sure I had inserted the back in a correct way. I tend to lose myself in eagerness sometimes.

So I spend image 6, 7 and 8, a beautiful composition with the Doel Nuclear Power Plant on the horizon and a handful of windmills on the foreground, to try different things with the back.

Then I drove back home, I wanted to shoot more but on the other hand I was quite curious.

Sinar Norma (2016) Ricoh GR II
Sinar Norma (2016)
Ricoh GR II

Yesterday I also acquired a Jobo CPE development tank with continuous movement. The tanks itself have a different closing system compared to the Pattersons I use.

I decided to develop a film I shot with the Olympus Trip 35 and that was a good decision because I did not close the tank very well so light fucked up the film.

I developed the 120 HP5+ manually and was glad to see that image 6, 7 and 8 are well exposed but I am not sure if the other images are worth something as they suffered from some light because I had not correctly inserted the roll film holder.

The film is now drying and I am not sure I’ll be able to scan it today.  4 negatives look quite gorgeous, the others suffer from a not correctly inserted back.
So I’ll add some images I shot with the Ricoh GR II.

Anyway I very much enjoyed using the Sinar Norma. It redefines photography for me and slows me down, putting me in an almost Zen kind of mind-set.

Shooting with the Sinar Norma (2016) Ricoh GR II
Shooting with the Sinar Norma (2016)
Ricoh GR II

Save

One thought on “Shooting with the Sinar Norma”

  1. Now that is a camera, what a gorgeous beast it’s certainly a slowing down of your picture taking and I can really understand the zen feeling, i get a similar feeling being in the moment when i shoot with the pinhole I have. The exposures give time to notice the moment and all that entails i look forward to seeing more from this special camera.

    Like

Comments are closed.