Rose

It has been over 30 years since I last used a technical camera for studio work.

It was at school and then during internship.
There I made a portrait of a 5-year old. I told the little guy stories while setting the camera up and then continued doing so, waiting to capture his gaze filled with amazement.

Owning such a camera has always been a wish I never expressed because I imagined I could never pay for one. It was only when I bought the Pentax Spotmeter V the desire surfaced again so I started looking for an affordable 4×5″ camera.

Then Sinar Norma crossed my path. I’m still using the 120 roll film holder but this evening I’m picking up 6 film holders and on Saturday I’ll go to Antwerp to get some film.

Past Monday I bought a few flowers and made studio shots with my Sinar Norma and one 180 WS Jinbei + soft box and a Nikon SB-800 to throw some light on the background.

Way too much light in my living though. Need to find a solution for that. And the focusing glass is dark too. So hard to focus. Maybe I should put a fresnel on my wishlist. It lightens up the viewing glass and spreads the image evenly over the view. It costs a lot though.

Measured the light with a flash meter. Checked with my Nikon D300 as a ‘Polaroid back’.
I’m shooting with 120 roll film Ilford FP4 Plus at 125 ISO.

After developing the film there was only one image perfectly exposed. All the others were almost evenly underexposed but a stop or 2.

Checking my notes the okay negative was the one where I pulled the dark slide and then pushed it immediately back in again because I had forgotten to close the aperture. Hence the movements round the subject. I then shot the image with flash. So in fact it is a double exposure.

Bottom line?
Shooting with a technical camera is something I need to learn.
I am using a 120 film back giving me 8 images at 6×7 for the time being.
I cannot afford to experiment at 2 Euro per negative. But on the other hand I am curious to see the quality a 4×5 gives me so that is why I am getting the film and the film holders.

Sinar Norma with Rodenstock Sironar-N 210mm f5,6 MC and Toyo Rollfim Holder 69 for 120 and Ilford FP4+ rated at 125 IO. Developed with Kodak TMax for 8′ at 20°C.

Rose (2016) Sinar Norma with Rodenstock Sironar-N 210mm f5,6 MC and Toyo Rollfim Holder 69 for 120
Rose (2016)
Sinar Norma with Rodenstock Sironar-N 210mm f5,6 MC and Toyo Rollfim Holder 69 for 120

Save

Save

Save

