Mooring-post


Yesterday, August 18 I drove to Ossenisse. It is a small village in the Dutch province of Zeeland.

The river Scheldt runs near it and that was my goal. I wanted to make some long exposure shots with my Bronica ETRSi. I loaded it with Ilford FP4 (125 ISO) and used a combination of a red filter and a ND 1024 to cut light down 12 stops. The red filter helped to make the blue sky darker.

I used ND Filter Calculator and Reciprocity on my Android phone to make the necessary corrections.  The latter is quite good and reliable.

I used my Pentax Spotmeter V to measure the light and to make an average between the lightest and darkest spots.

I developed the film with my Jobo CPE but encountered some issues.
I feel the film was not developed uniformly. The border of the film seems to have a few lighter areas. Nothing dramatic but it is there.

I used a squeegee to get rid of the water on the film. The first few negatives show parallel lines all over but then they disappear so I cannot imagine the squeegee is to blame.

Biggest issue remains dust. I dry my film in the smallest room but it still gets loaded with dust. Maybe I should put a water boiler in the toilet.

Anyway I enjoyed the shoot. Two guys came over for a chat (have to learn to give people my card, well, to have some with me at least). Composing, measuring the light and adding some gut feeling (an advantage of always using the same film) to the equation. Making long exposures and not having to wait for the digital camera to do something that takes as long as the initial exposure.

Just sitting there, walking, enjoying being in the grand open, me, a guy with a camera.

Later that afternoon, during the golden hour, I regretted not having color film with me. I hope that will change when I find and acquire a Jobe CPE-whatever kit so I can start and process color film.

Mooring-post (2016) Bronica ETRSi with 50mm at f11 and Ilford FP4+ at 45"
Mooring-post (2016)
Bronica ETRSi with 50mm at f11 and Ilford FP4+ at 45″

Save

3 thoughts on “Mooring-post”

  1. That’s a nice shot! Currently I have only done long exposure photography with my digital camera. I will have to try it with film. I love your description of the shoot. I enjoy the preparation from finding the shot to metering the light just as much as I do viewing the final results. It seems I enjoy the process even more shooting film. Of course I don’t take it as far as you do with the developing, but it is still very enjoyable.

    The other enjoyable aspect is meeting people. They are always surprised and intrigued when they realize I am shooting film. I also have some cards that I hand out to people I meet. My wife had them made for me so I could promote my website and also to reduce the creepy man with the camera factor. A business card just might make me appear more legit, LoL! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you for you feedback. I enjoyed making long exposures with my Ricoh GR II but always found it a waste of time waiting for the camera to end its second internal long exposure. Standing there for 8 minutes made me think I’d prefer doing this with film. My first attempts were a disaster. I used my Olympus OM-1n but forgot to cover the viewfinder 🙂 thus creating rather obvious light streaks.

      I had some pleasant interactions too, kindred spirits also shooting with film or the curious and interested. I’ll try not to forget to take some business cards with me the next time.

      Cheers,
      Stephan

      Like

Comments are closed.