A second Bronica


Yesterday I bought a batch of well stored but expired 120 roll film worth something like 145 Euro. Thirteen rolls of Ilford HP5+, 4 rolls of Ilford PANF, 8 rolls of Fuji Provia 400, 2 rolls of Fuji Superia 100 and one roll of Fuji Superia X-TRA 400.

Without any regrets and with a big smile I splashed out 250 Euro.

Yep, with the film I got a Bronica ETRS with a 75mm f2.8 and a  50mm f2.8. The camera comes with one 120 film back, a dark slide, a manual speed winder and a waist level finder.

I used to have a 75mm f2.8 but then something went wrong with the internal mechanics. So now I have this lens again. It is great for portraits.

The second lens I already have so maybe I’ll sell one of them.

The camera is visually in mint condition. I did not have time to fill a test roll but I noticed there is an issue with the 120 film back. The film advances but the frame numbers don’t move. I changed backs and that worked. Maybe it is something I can fix or maybe I’ll have to get another back. We’ll see.

On my other Bronica, an ETRSi, I have the prism AE-II finder so a waist level finder for a low POV is welcome.

I think this is a great deal. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the Provia as I don’t shoot slide film but I’ll keep it stored and when I feel like it play a little with cross-processing.

I love shooting with Bronica. I like the 645 format and the lenses I own are very sharp. I am happy I was able to acquire a second body for almost nothing.

Meanwhile I am selling my Olympus OM-D M10 kit. A few lenses are sold alreade, the very sharp 45mm f1,8 and the very good Lumix 20mm f1,7.

I like the camera but after I got the Ricoh GR II I did not use the Olympus that much as I found the Oly suddenly a very slow camera. I have no complaints about the (image) quality but, well, it is just gathering dust.

Anyway I feel that I am moving more and more towards analogue photography. I like that.

Seeds (2015) Nikon D300 with Sigma 180mm f3,5, studio environment
Seeds (2015)
Nikon D300 with Sigma 180mm f3,5, studio environment

 

 

 

 

