Butterfly


I shot this more than 30 years ago. The negative has dust and scratches but nothing the software of my scanner cannot repair.

I wonder if my digital images would survive 3 decades. There is this old cigar-box I have with negatives and even glass negatives. They can still be scanned albeit they are over 50 to 60 years old.

Film will never die.

Let me do a shout out for the young guys on the Youtube Channel “Negative Feedback”. They are passionate about film photography and have gathered quite an audience already. Hell,  they even know what they are talking about. Isn’t that great?

I shot this butterfly more than 30 years ago on film. If my house does not burn down in the next few decades I will still have this negative. How about your hard disks? How many copies can you make to make sure you have it all? And maybe you get lucky and your floppies or disks survive time.

Imagine 2040…
CRC-error reading NEF.
Error reading DNG-file.
Unknown error reading  CRW-file.
But then again, will there still be scanners to scan your negatives?

We all think what we use is the best, will survive time. Sure, negatives will survive time better than digital files.
But is it a sure bet?

Butterfly (ca 1984) Nikon F2 Photomic and a Nikon 55mm f2.8 macro and loaded with Kodak Gold
Butterfly (ca 1984)
Nikon F2 Photomic and a Nikon 55mm f2.8 macro and loaded with Kodak Gold

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Butterfly”

  1. Thought-provoking post, Stephan. I do wonder how digital files will fare in years to come. Thanks for the link to ‘Negative Feedback’ – will pay a visit.

    Like

Comments are closed.